How to Map a Network Drive in Windows 10

A mapped network drive can save you time by assigning a drive letter to a frequently accessed folder. Playing around with networks and drive letters might seem a bit technical, but the process is quick, simple, and great for saving time.

After mapping a network drive, it will appear in File Explorer with a name you can define and a drive letter you choose during the installation process. Windows 10 will suggest a drive letter starting with the end of the alphabet. It’s OK, but you can choose any letter that is not already used by the system, we chose ‘T’ for our Trusted reviews work file.

Once the letter is chosen and the drive mapped, you can access the folder by that drive letter in the command lines and so on – in our example it would be T: at the command prompt. Also, you can type T: in File Explorer’s address bar, but many will just double-click the new shortcut in “This PC” for quick access when loading and saving files. files.

What we used

  • A Windows 10 computer
  • A home network (Even if you only have one PC and one router, that’s fine)

Short version

  • Open Windows File Explorer and select “This PC”
  • Choose Map network drive
  • Select an unused drive letter and navigate to a folder
  • Choose if the network drive persists after reboot and say OK
  • The network drive is now available in This PC and has been assigned a drive letter

How to Map a Network Drive in Windows 10

  1. Walk
    1

    Open File Explorer

    Open Windows 10 File Explorer by clicking on the folder icon in the taskbar or by pressing Windows key + E. In the left column of the window that opens, you will see “This PC” , click it. You now have access to an icon above the window contents which is labeled “Map network drive”, click on it.Go to this PC

  2. Walk
    2

    Choose drive letter

    In the resulting dialog you will see a selection drop-down menu from which to choose a drive letter, we chose ‘T:’. Then click on the Browse…Choose a drive letter

  3. Walk
    3

    A dialog box appears that allows you to navigate your computer to a folder you want to map to the drive letter you chose. Clicking on the little chevrons ‘>’ allows you to search your disk for any folder you wish. We had to choose “Users” and then the current user’s data folder “mrtys” – yours will have a different name. To go further, we chose ‘Documents’, then ‘Trusted Reviews’ and clicked OKChoose a folder

  4. Walk
    4

    Select persistence option

    Finally, you can decide whether or not to reconnect this shared disk each time your computer restarts. We have selected this option. You can always choose ‘Disconnect network drive’ later if you no longer want or need this shortcut.Reconnect option

  5. Walk
    5

    Use new shared location and drive letter shortcut

    Now that you’re done, the mapped drive is available as a location in File Explorer and all of your programs. You can rename this folder if you wish. Ours was created with a very long name, so we just shortened it to Trusted Reviews. It is also accessible by the T: drive letter, of course.Drive letter has been mapped

Repair

I mapped a network drive but don’t want it anymore, how do I remove the shortcut?

Just go to File Explorer, then “This PC”, then right-click on the drive and choose “Disconnect”. Don’t worry, no file is selected, just the folder reference. You’ve also freed up the drive letter you assigned to the share.

I can’t map a network drive at all, what’s up?

There are a number of potential issues here, but the most likely is that you have disabled network discovery and/or file and printer sharing. To check and change these settings, type “sharing settings” in the Windows search bar and select the “Manage advanced sharing settings” icon suggested by Windows. This will take you directly to the toggle page for these settings for the current network.

Can I see/use the network drive mapped using the selected drive letter on other computers on my network?

No, other PCs will not be updated with the drive letter and shortcut you created, they will have to go through the process individually.


Source link